top of page
  • foundation336

๐ŸŽ“๐ŸŒŸ Foundation For Haslett Schools Awards Scholarships at Senior Recognition Breakfast!** ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŽ“

It was a momentous occasion for the graduating seniors of Haslett High School as the Foundation for Haslett School proudly announced the recipients of its prestigious scholarships at the Senior Recognition Breakfast last Thursday!

Amidst a morning filled with excitement and anticipation of the final school day for all graduating seniors, the Foundation had the privilege of awarding several outstanding students with scholarships, celebrating their academic commitment, community leadership, and dedication to supporting diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts.

With unwavering commitment to nurturing the bright minds of tomorrow, the Foundationโ€™s scholarships serve as a beacon of hope and opportunity for these deserving students as they embark on their post-secondary education journeys.

The Senior Recognition Breakfast, a cherished tradition within the Haslett High School, not only honored the achievements of our graduating seniors but also symbolizes the unwavering support and encouragement provided by educators, families, and the community at large.

Foundation for Haslett Schools Scholarship:

This scholarship recognizes students who have demonstrated high academic achievement throughout high school while also dedicating themselves to serving their local communities. Recipients also understand the importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion and articulately describe their work to elevate DEIโ€™s importance in our community. Not only have this yearโ€™s recipients achieved academically while remaining active in sports, school clubs, and music, they have also volunteered in organizations all around the community. Foundation for Haslett Schools Scholarship was awarded to the following seniors:

Carter Kildea, Ganga Murali, and Mina Yoo

Hagenbuch Memorial Scholarship:

The Hagenbuch family established this scholarship fund in 1983 as a way to honor Herb Hagenbuch, a 1953 graduate of Haslett High School. As a student, Herb was an outstanding athlete who participated actively in student government and, ultimately, was elected Senior Class President. After graduation, he continued to demonstrate his leadership skills and civic-mindedness by devoting countless hours to making Haslett a great place to live. He helped found the Haslett Youth Recreation Association (HYRA) to enable interested kids, no matter how good, to try a variety of sports without unnecessary pressure to excel. He also was instrumental in building the press box, concession stand, and ticket booth at the high school football field, as well as the trophy case inside the high school.

Herb's spirit and philosophy for living are reflected in certain words and phrases he repeated often throughout his life, including "think positive," "always ask questions," "never say can't," and "do the best with what you have."ย 

To qualify for a Hagenbuch scholarship, students need to have demonstrated how they have (1) worked to improve scholastically throughout their high school career, and (2) given back to Haslett by participating in extracurricular and community activities. They also must demonstrate their commitment to continuing their education at a college, university, or trade school. On behalf of the Hagenbuch family, FHA awarded this scholarship to the following seniors:

Cecelia Coady, Yamna Taboada-Espinosa, J'Kyla Hobbs, Brookelyn Lantz, Haley Phillips, and Samantha Goorin.

As we celebrate this milestone moment, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the scholarship recipients! Your hard work, perseverance, and commitment to excellence have truly set you apart, and we have no doubt that you will continue to shine brightly as you pursue your dreams.

To the community, thank you for your continuous dedication to empowering the next generation of leaders through funding these scholarships through your financial contributions. Your investment in education is transforming lives and shaping a brighter future for us all.

Let us join together in applauding these exceptional students and wishing them all the success and fulfillment as they embark on this new chapter of their lives.

Congratulations, scholars! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŒŸ

14 views0 comments


bottom of page